Join the website

©2019 par Chateau du Theil. 

LE CHATEAU DU THEIL

Where is it ?

Theil Castle, is located northeast of the city of Ussel in Corrèze. A city of around 10,000 people. It is located just 7 minutes from the A 89 highway. A small lost gem in a 6 hectare park in the city.

A beat of history

The origins of the castle date back to 1120, it then belongs to Baron Albert de Charlus, lord of Laborde and will belong to the Charlus family until 1468.

The Charlus de Laborde family will remain in place until 1468. The castle will then be transformed into a small seminary, from 1886 to 1898, then into a hospital during the First World War. In May 1941, André Chevalier acquired it. From 1943 to 1953, he accepted to graciously welcome the primary school of Ussel. In 1980, it also served as a summer camp. The castle will then belong to his heirs until it is bought in 2019.

Post card 1950

Post card 1970

Présentation of the projet

The gaol is to create an unusual place unique in France that includes a 4 star hotel with 14 rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a seminar room, a landscaped park accessible for events (concerts, exhibitions, weddings, etc.) , an aquaponic greenhouse and 7 unusual troglodyte type tiny-houses scattered throughout the park.

The whole being thinked with an eco-responsible design policy (use of bio-based materials), as well as part of the production on site for the restaurant.

An exclusivity in Corrèze and the first domain in France to offer this set of activities. It will be no less than 18 jobs created from the opening, thus contributing to the territorial dynamic.

photo july 2019

Visual concept from our architect Mr Perichon

Baefore/After : visual concept of the Bar (©Mato)

Before/After visual concept of a double bedroom (©Mato)

Landscaped park project plan and aerial view of the estate

Park area with additional accommodation (©Mr Perichon)

What is aquaponie?

The concept of aquaponie is a virtuous cycle allowing at the same time the cultivation of vegetables and the breeding of fish which will then be prepared and eaten in the restaurant. This technique is particularly well suited to the field which has 3 water sources. A quality water that will be used for park maintenance and fish farming, in combination with the recovery of rainwater.

Visual concept and explanatory diagram of the aquaponic farm. (© Salmon from France)

What actions have already been taken

After the purchase of the castle and its estate in September 2019, the first actions consisted of cleaning the surroundings of the castle which had become almost inaccessible due to vegetation that had not been controlled for more than 20 years. Once this step had been completed, it was necessary to empty the premises of all the bulky items and various waste abandoned and accumulated on site since then. Finally a few weeks later, the demolition of the walls, floors and ceilings could begin, keeping only the main walls and the roof. The demolition of the already collapsed North wing followed.

What is the emergency?

Today’s emergency concerns the roof of the South Wing. This one has undergone more than the rest the tests of time. Today it is on the verge of collapse and is likely to cause part of the walls to fall, as was the case with the North wing.

Who are we ?

We are three partners in this project:

Benoit BARRIER, a pure 30 years old Usselois who after a business school decided to come back to his home town and who is at the origin of the project.

His father Bruno BARRIER, 55 years old manager of companies and restorateur in Ussel since always (20 years).

And finally Francis MALAQUIS, a 30-year-old Usselois friend of Benoit from the school benches ended up joining the adventure.

Our commitment to this project

Our commitment to this project is total. After resigning from our respective jobs, it now occupies 100% of our time. From sunrise to sunset, there are a series of meetings, files, videos, and on-site work every day of the week. In the long term we will work, Benoit (president of the SAS) and Francis (General manager) full time to ensure the good functioning and the reception of the public at the castle.

Opening scheduled for summer 2021

LE CHÂTEAU DU THEIL

banniere.png

Où se trouve-t-il ?

Le château du Theil, se situe au Nord-Est de la ville d’Ussel en Corrèze. Une ville d’environ 10 000 habitants. Il est situé à seulement 7min de l’autoroute A 89. Une petite pépite perdue dans un parc de 6 hectares en pleine ville.

Sans titre.png
carte de localisation.JPG

Un peu d'histoire

Les origines du château remontent à 1120, il appartient alors au baron Albert de Charlus, seigneur de Laborde et appartiendra à la famille Charlus jusqu’en 1468.

La famille Charlus de Laborde va rester en place jusqu’en 1468.  Le château sera ensuite transformé en petit séminaire, de 1886 à 1898, puis en hôpital durant la première guerre mondiale. En Mai 1941, André Chevalier en fait l’acquisition. De 1943 à 1953, il accepte d'accueillir gracieusement le collège d'Ussel. En 1980, il servait également de colonie de vacances. Le château appartiendra ensuite à ses héritiers jusqu’à son rachat en 2019. 

IMG_0008.jpg

Carte postale de 1950

IMG_20200224_182754_496.jpg

Carte postale de 1970

Présentation du projet

Il s’agit de créer un lieu insolite unique en France regroupant un hôtel 4 étoiles de 14 chambres, un restaurant, un bar, une salle de séminaire, un parc paysagé accessible pour l’évènementiel (concerts, expositions, mariages, etc.), une serre aquaponique et 7 logements (annexes) insolites type troglodytes dispersés dans le parc.

L’ensemble étant réfléchi sur une politique de conception écoresponsable (utilisation de matériaux biosourcés), ainsi qu’une partie de la production pour le restaurant sur place.

Une exclusivité corrézienne et le premier domaine en France à proposer cet ensemble d’activités. Ce sera pas moins de 18 emplois créés dès l'ouverture contribuant ainsi à la dynamique territoriale..

IMG_6272.JPG

photo de juillet 2019

USSEL_-_Chateau_du_Theil_Perpective_extÃ

Visuel concept de notre architecte M.Perichon

GOPR1089.JPG
0001.jpg

Avant/Après : visuel concept de l'espace Bar (©Mato)

IMG_7902.JPG
chambre 4.JPG

Avant/Après : visuel concept d'une chambre double (©Mato)

plan du parc paysagiste.PNG
DJI_0215.JPG

Plan projet du parc paysagé et vue aérienne du domaine

P1040359.JPG
insolites.JPG

Zone du parc avec logements annexes (©M.Perichon)

logement_insolite_dessin_intérieur.PNG

visuel concept logements annexes (©Mato)

L'aquaponie qu'est ce que c'est  ?

Le concept de l’aquaponie est un cycle vertueux permettant en même temps la culture de légumes et l’élevage de poissons qui seront ensuite préparés et consommés dans le restaurant. Cette technique est particulièrement bien adaptée au domaine qui possède 3 sources. Une eau de qualité qui servira à l’entretien du parc et à l’élevage des poissons, en combinaison avec la récupération des eaux de pluies.

aquaponie schema.jpg
visuel de la serre aquaponique.jpg

Visuel concept et Schéma explicatif de la ferme aquaponique. (©Saumon de France)

Quelles action ont déjà été menées

Après l’achat du château et de son domaine en Septembre 2019, les premières actions ont consisté à nettoyer les abords du château qui était devenu quasiment inaccessible à cause d’une végétation non maitrisée pendant plus de 20 ans. Une fois cette étape franchie, il a fallu vider les lieux de tous les encombrants et divers déchets abandonnés et accumulés sur place depuis lors. Enfin quelques semaines plus tard la démolition des murs, planchers et plafonds pouvait commencer pour ne garder que les murs principaux et la toiture. S’en est suivi la démolition de l’aile Nord déjà effondrée. Puis la dépose de l'ancienne toiture pour être refaite. Les différentes phases de chantier dans le bâtiment ont ensuite pu s'enchainer rapidement : 

- Reprise complète des façade (encore en cours)

- Création de la dalle du RDC du 1er et 2e étage au niveau de l'aile Ouest

- Reprise du mur entre les deux tours

DJI_0202.JPG
DJI_0164.JPG
DJI_0219.JPG
P1040688.JPG
20210212_115811.jpg
P1050932.jpg

Qui sommes nous ?

Nous sommes trois associés dans ce projet :

Benoit BARRIER,un pur usselois de 30 ans qui après une école de commerce a décidé de revenir s’implanter à Ussel et qui est à l’origine du projet.

Son père Bruno BARRIER, 55 ans gérant de sociétés et restaurateur sur Ussel depuis toujours (20 ans).

Et enfin Francis MALAQUIS, un usselois de 30 ans ami de Benoit depuis les bancs du lycée a fini par rejoindre l’aventure.

P1040715.JPG

Notre engagement dans ce projet

Notre engagement dans ce projet est total. Après avoir démissionné de nos emplois respectifs, il occupe aujourd’hui 100% de notre temps. Du lever du jour au coucher du soleil s’enchainent les rendez-vous, les dossiers, les vidéos, et les travaux sur place tous les jours de la semaine. A terme nous travaillerons, Benoit (président de la SAS) et Francis (Directeur général) à temps plein pour assurer le bon fonctionnement et l’accueil du publicau château.

P1040654.JPG
GOPR1007.JPG